Chairman Robert Nichols












Chairman Geanie Morrison


Transportation Committees in Place for 2017


February 21, 2017


The Senate and House transportation committees have been named for the 2017 Legislature.  Senate Transportation is again chaired by Sen. Robert Nichols and has five returning members and four new members.  House Transportation is chaired by Rep. Geanie Morrison and includes seven returning and six new members.


Senate Transportation Committee


Sen. Nichols of East Texas returns for a third term as chairman.  Sen. Nichols was first elected to the Senate in 2006 and previously served eight years as a member of the Texas Transportation Commission.  He was a primary architect and advocate of Proposition 1 and Proposition 7 which direct additional funds to state transportation projects.


Sen. Bob Hall is the new vice chairman.  Serving in his first four-year term, he represents eastern Dallas County and eight counties on the east side of Dallas.


Other Returning Members of Senate Transportation

Sen. Sylvia Garcia was elected to the Senate in 2013 to represent portions of Harris County.  She was previously elected Houston City Controller and as a County Commissioner of Harris County.


Sen. Kelly Hancock represents Arlington, Euless and Grand Prairie.  He was a member of the Texas House (2006-2012) and was elected to the Senate in 2012. 


Sen. Lois Kolkhorst of Brenham was a member of the Texas House (2001-2014) before winning her Senate seat.  Her district extends from the western suburbs of Houston to the west and south to include a piece of Corpus Christi.


New Members of the Committee

Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa of McAllen is in his fourth decade in the Legislature.  He served 16 years in the House before joining the Senate in 2003.  His district includes Corpus Christi, rural South Texas and the western half of Hidalgo County in the Rio Grande Valley.


Sen. Brandon Creighton of Conroe whose district encompasses parts of Montgomery, Harris, Chambers, Jefferson and Galveston Counties.  He was chairman of the Senate Select Committee on Texas Ports during the past session.


Sen. Charles Perry of Lubbock is in his second session as a member of the Senate after two terms in the Texas House.  His district includes 51 counties in West Texas and the Panhandle.


Sen. Jose Rodriguez of El Paso, elected to the Senate In 2011, represents the El Paso area and four rural counties in far West Texas.


House Transportation Committee

Chairman Morrison of Victoria is a 16-year veteran in the House having previously served as chairman of the Higher Education Committee, the Election Committee and the Committee on Environmental Regulation.  Her district covers six counties on the South Texas coastal plains.


Rep. Armando “Mando” Martinez of Weslaco returns as Transportation Committee vice chairman.  His district includes the southeast portion of Hidalgo County along the Rio Grande.


Returning to the committee is Rep. Joe Pickett of El Paso, past chairman of the Transportation Committee who has served in the House since 1995 and a recognized authority on transportation policy. Also returning are Rep. Cindy Burkett of Garland, Rep Yvonne Davis of Dallas, Rep. Celia Isreal of Austin, Rep. Ron Simmons of Carrollton, and Rep. Larry Phillips of Sherman, a former chair of the committee.


New members on the committee are Rep. Craig Goldman of southwest Fort Worth, Rep. Ina Minjarez of west San Antonio, Rep. Ed Thompson of Pearland, Rep. Senfronia Thompson of northeast Houston, and Rep. John Wray of Waxahachie.